2019 Canadian Screen Award Nominees for Documentary

What Walaa Wants
Christy Garland / NFB

By Pat Mullen

The Canadian Academy of Cinema and Television released the nominations for the 2019 Canadian Screen Awards. It’s an eccentric bunch of films on the dramatic side, but the documentary (film) portion offers most of the anticipated contenders, although the omission of Rob Stewart’s Sharkwater Extinction is a big surprise. Christy Garland’s What Walaa Wants leads the feature documentary field as the only film to receive nominations in all three categories from the Screenies. On the TV side of documentary, Equus: Story of the Horse, directed by Niobe Thompson, leads the field with eight nominations.

The list of nominees is as follows:


Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary Award
Anthropocene: The Human Epoch – Jennifer Baichwal, Nicholas de Pencier, Edward Burtynsky
The Devil’s Share – Colette Loumède, Luc Bourdon
Immaculate Memories – Kenneth J. Harvey
Letter from Masanjia – Leon Lee
What Walaa Wants – Christy Garland, Matt Code, Anne Köhncke, Justine Pimlott, Anita Lee

Best Short Documentary
Bonfires – Martin Bureau
My Dead Dad’s Porno Tapes – Charlie Tyrell
On My Way Out: The Secret Life of Nani and Papi – Barry Avrich, Howie Mandel, Brandon Gross, Skyler Gross
Prince’s Tale – Jamie Miller
Voices of Kidnapping – Ryan McKenna

Best Achievement in Cinematography in a Feature Length Documentary
Anote’s Ark – Mathieu Rytz
Anthropocene: The Human Epoch – Nicholas de Pencier
First Stripes – Nicholas Canniccioni
The Other Rio – Ethienne Roussy
What Walaa Wants – Christy Garland

Best Achievement in Film Editing in a Feature Length Documentary
The Devil’s Share – Michel Giroux
Dolphin Man – Dave Kazala
Take Light – Rich Williamson
Transformer – Graham Withers
What Walaa Wants – Mike Aaglund, Graeme Ring


Donald Brittain Award for Best Social/Political Documentary Program
Driving with Selvi – Elisa Paloschi
The Heat: A Kitchen ( R )evolution – Maya Gallus
Quiet Killing – Michèle Rouleau
The Way Out – David York, Bryn Hughes, Michelle Shephard

Rob Stewart Award for Best Science or Nature Documentary Program or Series
Equus: Story of the Horse – Niobe Thompson, Caroline Underwood
Into the Fire – Gordon Henderson, Leora Eisen
The Kingdom: How Fungi Made Our World – Anne Pick, Bill Spahic
Mommy Wildest – Caitlin Starowicz, Mark Starowicz
Over the Horizon – Jennifer Howe, Craig McGillivray, Ira Levy

Best Documentary Program
After the Sirens – Kevin Eastwood
Fox Chaser – Chris Hsiung
The Fruit Machine – Han Nguyen, Sarah Fodey
Love, Hope & Autism – Dan Carriere, Shel Piercy, Robert Fresco
You Are Here: A Come from Away Story – Peter Gentille, Bill House, Mike Lalonde

Best Biography or Arts Program or Series
Dreaming of a Jewish Christmas – Jason Charters, Liam Romalis, Marie-Odile Demay
Inseparable: Ten Years Joined at the Head – Judith Pyke
Interrupt This Program – Frank Fiorito, Nabil Mehchi, Carolynne Bell, Al Magee, Kit Redmond
Jumbo: The Life of an Elephant Superstar – Dugald Maudsley, Stephen Dunleavy, Sharmila Choudhury
Rebels on Pointe – Bobbie Jo Hart, Robbie Hart

Best History Documentary Program or Series
100 Days of Victory – Julie Bristow, Marlo Miazga, Tara Elwood
1491: The Untold Story of the Americas Before Columbus – Barbara Hager, W. Paterson Ferns, Desiree Single, Vanessa Loewen
The Nature of Things: “Ice Bridge” – Elliott Halpern, Elizabeth Trojian
Prosecuting Evil: The Extraordinary World of Ben Ferencz – Barry Avrich

Best Direction: Documentary Program
Leora Eisen – Into the Fire
Elisa Paloschi – Driving with Selvi
Wendy Rowland – 14 & Muslim
Larry Weinstein – Dreaming of a Jewish Christmas
Tim Wolochatiuk – 100 Days to Victory

Best Direction: Documentary or Factual Series
Cynthia Banks – The Caregivers’ Club
Ryan Marley – Intervention Canada: “Jade”
Chelsea McMullan – In The Making – “Crystal Pite”
Christine Nielson – Jumbo: The Life of an Elephant Superstar
Niobe Thompson – Equus: Story of the Horse

Best Writing: Documentary
Jason Charters – Dreaming of a Jewish Christmas
Gillian Findlay – the fifth estate: “The Truth Smugglers”
Christine Nielson – Jumbo: The Life of an Elephant Superstar
Barry Stevens – Undercover Jihadi
Niobe Thompson – Equus: Story of the Horse – “Origins”

Best Photography: Documentary or Factual
Maya Bankovic – In The Making – “Crystal Pite”
Daron Donahue, Aaron Munson – Equus: Story of the Horse – “Origins”
Patrick Kaplan – Skindigenous – “Indonesia”
Joshua See – Mommy Wild
John Tran – The Heat: A Kitchen ( R )evolution

Best Picture Editing: Documentary
Tony Coleman – Mommy Wildest
Cathy Gulkin – You Are Here: A Come From Away Story
Michael Hannan – Into the Fire
Scott Parker – Equus: Story of the Horse – “First Riders”
Brenda Turning and Krystal Moss – Equus: Story of the Horse – “Chasing the Wind”

Best Sound, Non-Fiction
Johnny Blerot, Ian Pattison – Equus: Story of the Horse – “Origins”
Doug McClement, Sanjay Mehta – Gord Downie’s Secret Path in Concert
Dave Rose, Christian Cooke, Colin McLellan, Dustin Harris, Steve Blair, Ian McGettigan, David Hocs – Your Are Here: A Come From Away Story
Gary Vaughan, Richard Spence-Thomas – Dreaming of a Jewish Christmas
Gary Vaughan, Richard Spence-Thomas – The Group of Seven Guitars

Best Original Music: Non-Fiction
Kieran Adams – In The Making – “Crystal Pite”
Justin Delorme – Taken – “Angela Meyer”
Darren Fung – Equus: Story of the Horse
Mark Kloven – The Kingdom: How Funghi Made Our World
Laurel MacDonald, Phil Strong – You Are Here: A Come From Away Story

Barbara Sears Award for Best Editorial Research
Maya Bilbao – Still Standing – “Car Cross”
Hélène Bérubé – Interrupt this Program
Clare Dewitt – Saturn: Inside the Rings
Timothy Sawa, Lisa Mayor, Zander Sherman – the fifth estate – “Murder in Cottage Country”
Annabelle Tas – The Life-Sized City

Barbara Sears Award for Best Visual Research
Todd Battis, Gordon Danielson, Matthew Knegt – W5 – “6.12.17”
Elizabeth Klinck, Mike Lalonde – You Are Here: A Come From Away Story
Leslie Morrison – the fifth estate – “Murder in the Village”
Denise O’Brien, Hicham Tiflati – The Way Out


Best Web Program or Series, Non-Fiction
The Artists: The Pioneers Behind the Pictures – Christina Piovesan, Peter Mishara, Omar Majeed
Farm Crime – Geoff Morrison, Christina Carvalho
In Chinatown – Stephanie Chong, Bryce Quan, Jean Parsons, Jennifer Chiu
The Move – Lucius Dechausay, Andrew D’Cruz, Romeo Candido
MUCH Pride – Max Kopanygin

Best Immersive Experience, Non-Fiction
CBC Live Virtual Reality: 2018 PyeongChang Winter Games – Steve Macht, Pierre Michaud, Mathieu D’Amours, Mihira Lakshman, Chris Irwin, Luc Lebel, Trevor Wilker, Trevor Pilling, Nadia Flaim
A Curious Mind with Dominic Monaghan – David Brady, Jonathon Corbiere, Andrew MacDonald, Tristan Cezair, Tyler Sammy, Nick Counter
Made this Way – Elli Raynai, Irem Harnak, Ana Serrano
_Manic VR – Kalina Bertin, Sandra Rodriguez, Fred Casia, Nicolas S.Roy, Bob Moore
Space Explorers – Felix Lajeunesse, Paul Raphael, Ryan Horrigan, Stephane Rituit, Jonathan Blitzer

(Please note that links simply direct readers to pre-existing coverage and should not be taken as indication of favouritism, bias, or endorsement.)