BMO Bank of Montreal’s Kelly Jenkins; BMO-DOC Vanguard Award winner Amar Wala; Rogers Group of Funds’ Robin Mirsky; Rogers-DOC Luminary Award winner Zoe Dirse at the 2018 DOC Institute Honours

Submissions Open for the DOC Institute Honours

Awards mark the 10th year celebrating peers in Canadian documentary

2 mins read

The DOC Institute is now accepting submissions for the annual DOC Institute Honours. The 10th annual edition of the awards administered by the DOC Institute, an initiative of the Ontario branch of the Documentary Organization of Canada, will again recognize peers in the Canadian documentary field. The ceremony, scheduled for December 2023, will honour peers with the Rogers-DOC Luminary Award, supported by the Rogers Group of Funds, and the Vanguard Award. The former recognizes someone whose “leadership and creative spirit has made a significant contribution to the genre and benefitted the Canadian documentary community.” Last year’s winner was former NFB producer and current TIFF chief programming officer Anita Lee. The Vanguard Award distinguishes an emerging to mid-career filmmaker “whose keen artistic sensibility and visionary approach has made them a talent to watch.” Last year’s award went to To Kill a Tiger director Nisha Pahuja.

“This is the 10th Anniversary of the DOC Institute’s Honours Awards, so it’s a particularly special occasion for us,” said Lauren Howes, Managing Director of the DOC Institute, in a statement. “It is a really wonderful opportunity for the DOC Institute to gather community and celebrate the achievements of individuals who pursue the Institute’s mission in their own careers and have made significant positive impacts in supporting and championing Canadian documentary talent.”

“The Vanguard Award highlights the next generation of documentary filmmakers,” added Lalita Krishna, Board Member of the DOC Institute. “We want to recognize the diverse group of talented filmmakers who now have the opportunity to tell their stories.”

Other winners of the Vanguard Award include Tamara Mariam Dawit, Chelsea McMullan, Millifiore Clarkes, Lisa Jackson, Amar Wala, Victoria Lean, Alethea Arnaquq-Baril, and Brett Story. Previous recipients of the Rogers-DOC Luminary Award include Sylvia D. Hamilton, Anne Pick, Zoe Dirse, Alanis Obomsawin, Chris McDonald, Daniel Cross, Elizabeth Klinck, and POV editor Marc Glassman.

Nominations are open until Monday, Oct. 16 at 11:59pm ET. The candidates will then be determined by a jury drawn from DOC’s membership, which spans over 1200 members from across Canada.

Previous Story

Modern Goose Is Good for a Gander

Next Story

Hot Docs Podcast Festival Line-up Includes Canadaland, Margaret Atwood, and Kevin Drew

Latest from Blog

0 $0.00