Flee Tops IDA Award Winners

Summer of Soul lands three wins

3 mins read

Flee was the top winner at last night’s IDA Awards. Presented by the International Documentary Association, the IDA Awards honourable Jonas Poher Rasmussen’s triple Oscar nominee with the prizes for Best Feature and Best Director. Flee is an animated odysseys that shares the story of Rasmussen’s friend Amin (a pseudonym) escaping the mujaheddin in Afghanistan and coming of age, and coming out, in Denmark. Flee recently made history by scoring a trifecta of Oscar nominations for Best International Feature, Best Animated Feature, and Best Documentary Feature.

Rasmussen tied his top competitor for the latter prize in the Best Director category at the IDA Awards. Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson shared the prize for his acclaimed music doc Summer of Soul (…Or When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised). Summer of Soul also scored wins for Best Editing and Best Music Doc for its electrifying archival portrait of the 1969 Harlem Cultural Festival. Both Flee and Summer of Soul premiered at the 2021 Sundance Film Festival where they won the Grand Jury Prizes for World Cinema and U.S. documentary, respectively.


The full list of IDA Awards winners is as follows:

Best Feature: Flee – Jonas Poher Rasmussen, Monica Hellstrӧm, Signe Byrge Sørensen, Charlotte De La Gourneri

Best Director: Jonas Poher Rasmussen, Flee AND Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson, Summer of Soul (tie)

Best Writing: North By Current – Angelo Madsen Minax

Best Music Documentary: Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised) – Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson, Joseph Patel, Robert Fyvolent, David Dinerstein

Best Film Editing: Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised) – Joshua L. Pearson

Best Cinematography: Faya Dayi – Jessica Beshir

Best Short: A Broken House – Jimmy Goldblum, Matt Weaver, Richard Gephardt, Harrison Nalevansky

Best Music Score: Eyes on the Prize: Hallowed Ground – Roman GianArthur

Best Curated Series: Independent Lens – Lois Vossen, Sally Jo Fifer

Best Episodic Series: My Love: Six Stories of True Love –  Xan Aranda, Mo-young Jin, Andrew Fried, Dane Lillegard, Jordan Wynn

Best Multi-Part Documentary: Exterminate All the Brutes – Raoul Peck, Daniel Delume, Rémi Grellety, Nancy Abraham, Lisa Heller, Jamie Morris, Jack Oliver, Poppy Dixon

Best Short Form Series: Viral Dreams – Georg Tschurtschenthaler, Udi Nir, Sagi Bornstein. Executive Producer: Christian Beetz

Best Multi-Part Audio Documentary or Series: Suave  – Maggie Freleng, Julieta Martinelli, Maria Hinojosa, Marlon Bishop, Audrey Quinn, Stephanie Lebow

Best Stand-Alone Audio Documentary: VICE News Reports: Monaea, A 2020 Diary – Monaea Upton, Jen Kinney, Ashley Cleek, Adizah Eghan, Kyle Murdock, Adreanna Rodriguez. Executive Producer: Kate Osborn

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award: Seahorse – Nele Dehnenkamp, Christine Duttlinger

ABC News VideoSource Award: Whirlybird Matt Yoka, Diane Becker

Pare Lorentz Award: The First Wave – Matthew Heineman, Jenna Millman, Leslie Norville

-honourable mention: Tigre Gente: Elizabeth Unger, Joanna Natasegara

Pat Mullen is the publisher of POV Magazine. He holds a Master’s in Film Studies from Carleton University where his research focused on adaptation and Canadian cinema. Pat has also contributed to outlets including The Canadian Encyclopedia, Paste, That Shelf, Sharp, Xtra, and Complex. He is the vice president of the Toronto Film Critics Association and an international voter for the Golden Globe Awards.

Previous Story

Women Continue to Lead the Field in NFB Productions

Next Story

Beans Wins Rogers Best Canadian Film from Toronto Film Critics Association

Latest from Blog

0 $0.00