Ranjit in To Kill a Tiger | NFB/Notice Pictures

To Kill a Tiger, BLK Lead Canadian Screen Awards Doc Winners

Non-fiction takes early lead in Canadian Screen Week

6 mins read

To Kill a Tiger and BLK: An Origin Story topped the documentary and factual winners at this year’s Canadian Screen Awards. To Kill a Tiger scored three awards on the film side of the CSAs including the top prize of the Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary Award. It also won for music and film editing. Directed by Nisha Pahuja, To Kill a Tiger chronicles a family’s plight when a young woman and her supportive parents buck the status quo by seeking justice following a violent rape. The NFB film premiered at TIFF 2022 where it won the Amplify Voices for Best Canadian Feature. It opened theatrically this winter after its run on the circuit that included a win for Best Documentary at Palm Springs.

BLK, meanwhile, won five awards on the broadcast side: Best Direction, Factual Series for Jennifer Holness along with awards for writing, editing, photography, and music. BLK is a four-part series created by Holness and Sudz Sutherland (who picked up an award for writing), with the duo directing episodes alongside Maya Annik Bedward, who nabbed a win for Best Short Doc with Patty vs. Patty. The series explores the lives of Black Canadians from the 1600s to present, looking beyond the familiar tale of the Underground Railroad to tell stories of Black lives from all corners of the country from Vancouver to Montreal and the Maritimes.

Also netting multiple wins on the factual side was We’re All Gonna Die (Even Jay Baruchel). The playful series won four Canadian Screen Awards including Best Factual Series and Best Direction for Victoria Lean. It also won for visual research and film editing. Meanwhile, music doc Buffy Sainte-Marie: Carry It On won a pair of awards, including Best Director for Madison Thomas. On the film side, Nicholas de Pencier picked up another win, this time for Best Cinematography for Brian D. Johnson’s arts doc The Colour of Ink.


The full list of documentary and factual Canadian Screen Awards winners is as follows



Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary  

Sponsor | ROGERS

To Kill a Tiger – Nisha Pahuja, Cornelia Principe, David Oppenheim, Andy Cohen, Anita Lee, Atul Gawande, Andrew Dragoumis


Best Cinematography in a Feature Length Documentary  

Nicholas de Pencier – The Colour of Ink


Best Editing in a Feature Length Documentary  

Mike Munn, CCE, Dave Kazala – To Kill a Tiger


Best Original Music in a Feature Length Documentary

Jonathan Goldsmith – To Kill a Tiger


Best Short Documentary

Sponsor | Hot Docs

Patty vs. Patty – Chris Strikes, Kate Fraser, Maya Annik Bedward



Donald Brittain Award for Best Social/Political Documentary Program

Sponsor | ROGERS

The Pretendians

Drew Hayden Taylor, Paul Kemp


Best History Documentary Program or Series

Underground Railroad: The Secret History

Joey Case, Nicole Hamilton, Margot Daley


Rob Stewart Award for Best Science or Nature Documentary Program or Series

Ice and Fire: Tracking Canada’s Climate Crisis

Elliott Halpern, Elizabeth Trojian


Best Biography or Arts Documentary Program or Series

Comedy Punks: Kids in the Hall

Michael MacMillan, Laura Michalchyshyn, Jennifer Harkness, Reginald Harkema, Paul Myers, Nicholas McKinney, Kimberley Creelman


Best Documentary Program

Sex with Sue

Lisa Rideout, Sam Dunn, Scot McFadyen


Best Factual Series

We’re All Gonna Die (Even Jay Baruchel)

Jay Baruchel, Gordon Henderson, Stuart Henderson, Victoria Lean, Ben Travers


Best Direction, Factual

We’re All Gonna Die (Even Jay Baruchel)Asteroid Armageddon

Victoria Lean


Best Direction, Documentary Series

BLK: An Origin StoryNova Scotia: Three Epic Migrations, One People

Jennifer Holness


Best Direction, Documentary Program

Buffy Sainte-Marie: Carry It On

Madison Thomas


Best Writing, Documentary

BLK: An Origin StoryOntario: John “Daddy” Hall

Sudz Sutherland


Barbara Sears Award for Best Editorial Research

We’re All Gonna Die (Even Jay Baruchel)Asteroid Armageddon

Victoria Lean, Jackie Carlos, Rita Kotzia, Britt Wray, Stuart Henderson, Ben Travers, Simone Zucker


Barbara Sears Award for Best Visual Research

Black Liberators WWII

Kenya-Jade Pinto, Erin Chisholm


Best Writing, Factual

Still StandingOxford, NS

Jonny Harris, Fraser Young, Graham Chittenden, Steve Dylan


Best Photography, Documentary or Factual

BLK: An Origin StoryNova Scotia: Three Epic Migrations, One People

Ricardo Diaz


Best Picture Editing, Factual

We’re All Gonna Die (Even Jay Baruchel)Asteroid Armageddon

Kirk Ramsay, Nick Taylor


Best Picture Editing, Documentary

BLK: An Origin StoryVancouver: Hogan’s Alley

Avril Jacobson


Best Sound, Documentary or Factual

Buffy Sainte-Marie: Carry It On

Stephen Paniccia, Kane Kirton, Daniel Pellerin, Chris Birkett, Michelle Irving, Elma Bello


Best Original Music, Documentary

BLK: An Origin Story – ​​Nova Scotia: Three Epic Migrations, One People

Tom Third


Gordon Sinclair Award for Broadcast Journalism

Lisa LaFlamme


Lifetime Achievement Award

Pierre Bruneau

Pat Mullen is the publisher of POV Magazine. He holds a Master’s in Film Studies from Carleton University where his research focused on adaptation and Canadian cinema. Pat has also contributed to outlets including The Canadian Encyclopedia, Paste, That Shelf, Sharp, Xtra, and Complex. He is the vice president of the Toronto Film Critics Association and an international voter for the Golden Globe Awards.

Previous Story

Now Streaming: My 2020 revives reflections on isolation, tourism and freedom

Next Story

River Review: Treading Watermark

Latest from Blog

0 $0.00