DOC Vanguard winner Noura Kevorkian and Rogers-DOC Luminary Award winner Janice Dawe | Photo by Henry Chan

Photos from the 2023 DOC Institute Honours

3 mins read

Over 225 members of the documentary film industry gathered at Toronto’s The Great Hall on Tuesday, December 5 to celebrate the winners of the 2023 DOC Institute Honours. This year, acclaimed filmmaker Noura Kevorkian won the Vanguard Award, presented to an emerging or mid-career professional whose keen artistic sensibility and visionary approach has made them a talent to watch. Industry veteran Janice Dawe  won the Rogers-DOC Luminary Award, presented to an individual whose leadership and creative spirit has made a significant contribution to the genre and benefitted the Canadian documentary community. 

Guests in attendance included newly appointed Hot Docs president Marie Nelson and the festival’s artistic director Hussain Currimbhoy, and director of programming Heather Haynes, along with previous Rogers-DOC Luminary winners Anne Pick and Anita Lee, and 2020 Vanguard winner Lisa Jackson. Also in attendance were Robin Mirsky of the Rogers Group of Funds, which sponsored the Rogers-DOC Luminary Award and Danny Webber, with Mark Gingras and John Laing, from Urban Post, sponsors of the Vanguard Award.

Check out some pictures from the event below:

Pat Mullen is the publisher of POV Magazine. He holds a Master’s in Film Studies from Carleton University where his research focused on adaptation and Canadian cinema. Pat has also contributed to outlets including The Canadian Encyclopedia, Paste, That Shelf, Sharp, Xtra, and Complex. He is the vice president of the Toronto Film Critics Association and an international voter for the Golden Globe Awards.

Previous Story

Coming Around Review: Faith, Family, and Figuring It All Out

Next Story

Fatih Akin on Crossing the Bridge, Istanbul, and Music Across Cultures

Latest from Blog

0 $0.00