Trae Patton / A.M.P.A.S.

Academy Invites Nisha Pahuja, Alethea Arnaquq-Baril, Mila Aung-Thwin to Doc Branch

Academy invites 487 industry peers

6 mins read

Canadians Nisha Pahuja, Alethea Arnaquq-Baril, and Mila Aung-Thwin are among the names invited to join the Academy’s documentary branch. The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) announced that 487 talents from the film industry were welcomed to the next class of Oscar voters. Pahuja scored a nomination this year in the feature documentary category for To Kill a Tiger. (The film’s editor, Mike Munn, was invited to join the editors’ branch.) Arnaquq-Baril is the director of documentaries such as Angry Inuk and producer of Twice Colonized, which won the Canadian Screen Award for Best Theatrical Documentary Feature last month. Aung-Thwin is a director and producer whose credits as producer include Last Train Home, which made the Oscar shortlist, and the Sundance award winners Midwives and Softie.

Also on the list for the documentary branch is B.C.-based experimental filmmaker Sky Hopinka (Malni: Towards the Ocean, towards the Shore), acclaimed filmmaker Sergei Loznitsa (State Funeral), and this year’s winner Mstyslav Chernov (20 Days in Mariupol). Also invited is previous Oscar winner Ellen Goosenberg Kent (Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1). Oscar nominees invited to the branch include Trish Adlesic (The ABCs of Book Banning), Waad Al-Kateab (For Sama), Anne Alvergue (The Martha Mitchell Effect), Moses Bwayo (Bobi Wine: The People’s President), Mark Mitten (Abacus: Small Enough to Jail), RaMell Ross (Hale County This Morning, This Evening), Christine Turner (The Barber of Little Rock), and Nadim Cheikhrouha (Four Daughters). The latter two were also invited to join the short films and animation branch and the producers branch, respectively. (Invitees must choose one branch.)

Other Canadians invited to the Academy include Catherine O’Hara to the actors branch, Andréa Grau of Touchwood PR to the public relations branch, Catherine Lutes to the cinematographers branch, Mario D’Avignon to the costumers branch, Emma Seligman and Celine Song to the directors’ branch, and Invincible nominees Vincent René-Lortie and Samuel Caron to the producers branch.


The full list of invitees to the documentary branch is as follows:

Trish Adlesic – “The ABCs of Book Banning,” “Gasland”
Daniela Alatorre – “A Cop Movie,” “Midnight Family”
Waad Al-Kateab – “We Dare to Dream,” “For Sama”
Anne Alvergue – “The Martha Mitchell Effect,” “Bully. Coward. Victim. The Story of Roy Cohn”
Raed Andoni – “Ghost Hunting,” “Fix Me”
Alethea Arnaquq-Baril – “Twice Colonized,” “Angry Inuk”
Mila Aung-Thwin – “Let There Be Light,” “Last Train Home”
Tina Baz – “Adolescents,” “Fix Me”
Jorge Bodanzky – “The Amazon, a New Minamata?,” “Third Millennium”
Moses Bwayo – “Bobi Wine: The People’s President”
Caryn Capotosto – “Little Richard: I Am Everything,” “Won’t You Be My Neighbor?”
Nadim Cheikhrouha* – “Four Daughters,” “Benda Bilili!”
Mstyslav Chernov – “20 Days in Mariupol”
Michael Collins – “Almost Sunrise,” “Give Up Tomorrow”
Flávia de Souza – “Aftershock,” “Open Heart”
Jeanie Finlay – “Your Fat Friend,” “Seahorse: The Dad Who Gave Birth”
Beadie Finzi – “Only When I Dance,” “Unknown White Male”
Ellen Goosenberg Kent – “Torn Apart: Separated at the Border,” “Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1”
Sky Hopinka – “Kicking the Clouds,” “Malni: Towards the Ocean, towards the Shore”
José Joffily – “A Symphony for a Common Man,” “Foreign Soldier”
Rachel Lears – “To the End,” “Knock Down the House”
Rebecca Lichtenfeld – “The Eternal Memory,” “The Nightcrawlers”
Sergei Loznitsa – “Babi Yar. Context,” “Mr. Landsbergis”
Aïcha Macky – “Zinder,” “The Fruitless Tree”
Kara Magsanoc-Alikpala – “Delikado,” “Call Her Ganda”
Elaine McMillion Sheldon – “King Coal,” “Heroin(e)”
Mark Mitten – “A Compassionate Spy,” “Abacus: Small Enough to Jail”
Vincent Moloi – “Skulls of My People,” “Men of Gold”
Nisha Pahuja – “To Kill a Tiger,” “The World before Her”
Pola Rapaport – “Addicted to Life,” “Broken Meat”
RaMell Ross – “Easter Snap,” “Hale County This Morning, This Evening”
Ousmane Samassekou – “The Last Shelter,” “The Heirs of the Hill”
Frédéric Tcheng – “Invisible Beauty,” “Halston”
Jennifer Tiexiera – “Subject,” “P.S. Burn This Letter Please”
Hemal Trivedi – “Among the Believers,” “Saving Face”
Christine Turner* – “The Barber of Little Rock,” “Lynching Postcards: “Token of a Great Day””
Keith Wilson – “Joonam,” “I Didn’t See You There”

Get the full list of invitations here.

Pat Mullen is the publisher of POV Magazine. He holds a Master’s in Film Studies from Carleton University where his research focused on adaptation and Canadian cinema. Pat has also contributed to outlets including The Canadian Encyclopedia, Paste, That Shelf, Sharp, Xtra, and Complex. He is the vice president of the Toronto Film Critics Association and an international voter for the Golden Globe Awards.

Previous Story

Controversy? What Controversy? – 20 Years of Fahrenheit 9/11

Next Story

Pride Guide: 10 Docs to Stream for the Long Weekend

Latest from Blog

DOC Atlantic Today

Voices from the Atlantic Chapter of the Documentary Organization and independent filmmakers from the region call

0 $0.00