Toronto and Vancouver Film Critics Award Sofia Bohdanowicz’s ‘Maison du Bonheur’

Maison du Bonheur

By Pat Mullen

Critics from Canada’s two largest film hubs fêted Sofia Bohdanowicz this week. Bohdanowicz, director of Maison du Bonheur and Never Eat Alone, received the Jay Scott Prize for emerging artist last night from the Toronto Film Critics Association at the TFCA’s annual gala. The award carried a prize of $5000 in support.

Last year’s winner of the Jay Scott prize, Ashley McKenzie, won the TFCA’s Best Canadian Feature prize for her debut feature Werewolf. The award came with a purse of $100,000, sponsored by Rogers.

Bohdanowicz scooped the honours for Best Canadian Documentary the night before from the Vancouver Film Critics Circle for Maison du Bonheur. The film, a hit on the Canadian festival circuit this year, moved audiences with its personal flourishes that recall the early work of Agnès Varda, who won the Maison Birks Allan King Documentary Award for Faces Places. Reviewing the film for POV back at Hot Docs, Chelsea Phillips-Carr wrote, “With absorbing narrative variety paired with great aesthetic unity, Maison du Bonheur reverentially depicts the significance of a feminine legacy.”

The TFCA’s winner for Best Film was The Florida Project with co-star Bria Vinaite on hand to accept the honour along with the Best Supporting Actor award for Willem Dafoe.