‘Minding the Gap’ Tops IDA Award Winners

Minding the Gap

By Pat Mullen

Bing Liu’s Minding the Gap was the big winner at last night’s presentation of the International Documentary Association IDA Documentary Awards. The coming of age skateboarding doc picked up two awards including Best Feature. The film beat out Oscar frontrunners Free Solo and Won’t You Be My Neighbour? along with fellow festival favourites like Hale County This Morning, This Evening, Crime + Punishment, Dark Money_, The Silence of Others, United Skates, Sky and Ground, and Of Fathers and Sons.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Best Feature: Minding the Gap – Bing Liu, Diane Quon

Best Music Documentary: Mr. SOUL! – Melissa Haizlip, Sam Pollard

Best Cinematography: Distant Constellation – Shevaun Mizrahi

Best Writing: The Other Side of Everything – Mila Turajlic

Best Film Editing: Minding the Gap – Bing Liu and Joshua Altman

Best Music Score: Bisbee ’17 – Keegan DeWitt / Hale Country This Morning, This Evening – Scott Alario, Forest Kelley and Alex Somers (tie)

Best Short: Zion – Floyd Russ, Carter Collins

Best Audio Documentary: Caliphate – Rukmini Callimachi, Andy Mills, Larissa Anderson, Wendy Dorr and Asthaa Chaturvedi

Best Curated Series: POV – Justine Nagan and Chris White

Best Episodic Series: The Trade – Matthew Heineman and Pagan Harleman

Best Limited Series: Wild Wild Country – Chapman Way, Maclain Way, Juliana Lembi, Mark Duplass, Jay Duplass, Josh Braun and Dan Braun

Best Short Form Series: MEL Films – David Freid

ABC News VideoSource Award: John McCain: For Whom the Bell Tolls – Peter Kunhardt, George Kunhardt and Teddy Kunhardt

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award: Circle – Jayisha Patel

Pare Lorentz Award Winner: The Silence of Others – Almudena Carracedo and Robert Bahar
(Honourable mention: The Distant Barking of Dogs – Simon Lereng Wilmont, Monica Hellstrøm)