Inconvenient Indian Leads RIDM 2020 Winners

Inconvenient Indian
Photo: NFB and 90th Parallel Productions

By Patrick Mullen

Inconvenient Indian continues its winning streak on the Canadian festival circuit. Michelle Latimer’s doc picked up two awards tonight from the Montreal International Documentary Festival (RIDM). Inconvenient Indian won the Grand Prize for National Feature and the Magnus Isacsson Award, named after the late filmmaker with a legacy for politically engaged work. The jury praised Inconvenient Indian as “an unapologetically modern look at history in which the director strikes a majestic balance between her subject and a bold art form.” Inconvenient Indian previously won both the People’s Choice Award for Documentary and the Amplify Voices Canadian Feature Award at the Toronto International Film Festival, as well as the prize for Most Popular Canadian Feature at the Vancouver International Film Festival earlier this season.

Also picking up two citations at the festival was No Ordinary Man, directed by Aisling Chin-Yee and Chase Joynt. The doc about musician Billy Tipton and the legacy of transgender artists he inspired won the New Visions Award and received a special mention for the Magnus Isacsson Award. On the international side, the Grand Prize for Best International Feature went to Aswang, directed by Alyx Ayn Arumpac. Noting its unanimous decision to reward Aswang the prize, the jury noted, “This film succeeds, with heartfelt compassion, in bearing witness to the horrendous plight of the people of the Philippines, who must cope with violence, abuse and political corruption on a daily basis.” The winners will all be available to pass holders for the final day of the festival.

The full list of RIDM Winners is as follows:

Grand Prize for Best National Feature: Inconvenient Indian – Michelle Latimer
Special Mention: The Forbidden Reel – Ariel Nasr

Special Jury Prize – National Feature:Prayer for a Lost Mitten – Jean-François Lesage

New Visions Award: No Ordinary Man – Aisling Chin-Yee and Chase Joynt

Grand Prize for Best International Feature: Aswang – Alyx Ayn Arumpac (Philippines, Denmark, France, Germany)

Special Jury Prize – International Feature: IWOW: I Walk on Water – Khalik Allah (USA)

Best International Short or Medium-Length Film: Clean With Me (After Dark) – Gabrielle Stemmer (France)

Best National Short or Medium-Length Film: Goodnight Goodnight – Mackenzie Reid Rostad

Magnus Isacsson Award: Inconvenient Indian – Michelle Latimer -Special mention: No Ordinary Man – Aisling Chin-Yee and Chase Joynt

People’s Choice Award: Petite Fille – Sébastien Lifshitz (France)

Visit the POV RIDM Hub for more coverage from this year’s festival.