‘Hale County’ Tops Cinema Eye Honors

Science Class from Hale County This Morning, This Evening
IDIOM Film, Courtesy RaMell Ross & Cinema Guild

By Pat Mullen

It was a day to spotlight emerging voices at last night’s Cinema Eye Honors. A new generation of filmmakers swept the field with RaMell Ross’s feature directorial debut Hale County This Morning, This Evening taking the top prize for Outstanding Achievement in Non-Fiction Feature Filmmaking. Bing Liu’s first feature Minding the Gap scored three prizes including the honour for top debut, while Sandi Tan’s first completed feature (about her first thwarted feature) was honoured for its music and graphics.

Also scoring three prizes was hot Oscar contender Free Solo. Jimmy Chin and Elizabeth Chai Vasarheyli’s doc took honours for its outstanding production and cinematography, along with the audience award, which was decided by over 22,000 votes. Free Solo got off to a big start by winning the same prize at TIFF last fall. Other winners included Canuck Charlie Tyrell for his short My Dead Dad’s Porno Tapes and Bart Layton’s exhilarating heist hybrid American Animals, which scooped the Heterodox Award for pushing the boundaries of documentary form.

The full list of Cinema Eye winners is as follows:

Outstanding Achievement in Non-Fiction Feature Filmmaking: Hale County This Morning, This Evening – RaMell Ross, Joslyn Barnes and Su Kim

Outstanding Broadcast Series: America to Me – Steve James

Outstanding Broadcast Film: Baltimore Uprising – Sonja Sohn

Outstanding Achievement in Non-Fiction Short Filmmaking: My Dead Dad’s Porno Tapes – Charlie Tyrell

Audience Choice Prize: Free Solo – Jimmy Chin, Elizabeth Chai Vasarheyli

Outstanding Achievement in a Debut Feature: Bing Liu, Minding the Gap

Heterodox Award: American Animals – Bart Layton

Outstanding Achievement in Direction: Bing Liu, Minding the Gap

Outstanding Achievement in Production: Free Solo – Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi, Jimmy Chin, Evan Hayes and Shannon Dill

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography: Free Solo – Jimmy Chin, Clair Popkin, Mikey Shaeffer

Outstanding Achievement in Editing: Minding the Gap – Bing Liu, Joshua Altman

Outstanding Achievement in Musical Score: Shirkers – Ishei Adair

Outstanding Achievement in Graphic Design or Animation: Shirkers – Lucas Celler, Sandi Tan

Spotlight Award: The Distant Barking of Dogs – Simon Lereng Wilmont

Legacy Award: Eyes on the Prize