DOC Institute Honors Return Dec. 7

Alethea Arnaquq-Baril accepts the DOC Vanguard Award at the 2016 DOC Institute Honours
Photo by Kaz Ehara/Verity Creative

The DOC Institute honours the pioneers and innovators in the documentary field when the annual DOC Institute Honours return December 7. This celebration marks the 4th annual edition of the awards.

“Documentary is a distinctly Canadian tradition,” said Adam Shamoon, Director of the DOC Institute, in a statement from the organization. “The styles and innovations of our filmmakers are adopted by documentarians worldwide, whether it’s cinema verité or interactive storytelling. The Honours celebrate their unique achievements.”

The DOC Institute Honours spotlight emerging talents and veterans in documentary with two awards juried from a field of representatives from the Documentary Organization of Canada (DOC).

The DOC Vanguard Award, which is presented to early career filmmakers doing justice to Canada’s art form with authentic voices and new approaches. Previous recipients for the award include Alethea Arnaquq-Baril (Angry Inuk) and Chelsea McMullan (My Praire Home). The Rogers-DOC Luminary Award is awarded to an unsung hero in the documentary field. The award goes not to a producer or director, but a champion for documentary who works to advance the community through lifelong support. Previous winners of the Rogers-DOC Luminary Award are Hot Docs present Chris McDonald, visual researcher Elizabeth Klinck, and POV editor Marc Glassman. The recipients for both awards will be named at the ceremony on December 7.

“The DOC Vanguard Award recognizes the next wave of Hubert Davies and Jennifer Baichwals,” said Lalita Krishna, Co-Chair of DOC Toronto. “We’re proud to honour the future keepers of our storied documentary tradition.”

“The Rogers-DOC Luminary Award is a remarkable badge of honour,” added Nadine Pequeneza, Co-Chair of the Documentary Organization of Canada. “It’s an acknowledgment from your peers in the documentary community: that they recognize and celebrate your contribution to the industry.”

This year’s festivities will be held at the Gladstone Hotel on Thursday, December 7 with actor/filmmaker Peter Keleghan returning for hosting duties.