AMPAS announces Documentary Feature shortlist

Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry, dir. Alison Klayman (2012)

Yesterday, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences released the shortlist of 15 films eligible for Best Documentary Feature.

Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry
Chasing Ice
5 Broken Cameras
The Gatekeepers
The House I Live In
How to Survive a Plague
The Imposter
The Invisible War
Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence in the House of God
Searching for Sugar Man
This Is Not a Film
The Waiting Room

You can read about some of the films in these recent Point of View festival features:

5 Broken Cameras
Dropping the Film in Film Festival: DOXA 2012
Hot Docs 2012: Relating to Films and Filmmakers

Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry
Uncovering Berlinale’s Docs

This is Not A Film
Doc Revolutions in the Middle East

Additionally, both of the films screening this December for Hot Docs’ Doc Soup series are on the shortlist: The House I Live In (Toronto) and Detropia (Calgary). They screen on December 5, 2012.

Have you seen any of the films on the list? What ones do you think deserved to also be on the shortlist?