‘American Factory’ Tops Cinema Eye Honors Winners

American Factory

By Pat Mullen

Julia Reichert and Steven Bognar’s acclaimed documentary American Factory took another step in the lead of this year’s Oscar race. The film scooped the top prizes at this year’s Cinema Eye Honors, one of few awards events dedicated exclusively to documentary. American Factory won Outstanding Nonfiction Feature and Outstanding Direction.

Last night’s Cinema Eye Honors saw most of the documentaries in the race receive a prize. Todd Douglas Miller’s Apollo 11 scored two technical honours, while Syrian stories The Cave and For Sama tied in the category for outstanding production and Honeyland scooped the cinematography prize. The Biggest Little Farm cemented its status as a true crowd-pleaser by winning the audience award.

The complete list of Cinema Eye Honors winners are as follows:

Outstanding Nonfiction Feature

American Factory
Directed and Produced by Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert
Produced by Jeff Reichert and Julie Parker Benello

Outstanding Direction

American Factory – Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert

Outstanding Editing

Apollo 11 – Todd Douglas Miller

Outstanding Production

The Cave – Kirstine Barfod and Sigrid Dyekjær
For Sama – Waad al-Kateab

Outstanding Cinematography

Honeyland – Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma

Outstanding Original Score

Apollo 11 – Matt Morton

Outstanding Graphic Design or Animation

The Great Hack – Ash Thorp, Matthew Hornick and Patrick Cederberg

Outstanding Debut

The Disappearance of My Mother – Beniamino Barrese

Outstanding Nonfiction Short

Ghosts of Sugar Land – Bassam Tariq

Audience Choice Prize

The Biggest LIttle Farm

Legacy Award

Godfrey Reggio – Koyaanisqatsi

Outstanding Broadcast Film

Leaving Neverland – Dan Reed

Outstanding Broadcast Series

Tricky Dick – Mary Robertson


Present.Perfect- Shengze Zhu

Outstanding Achievement in Broadcast Editing

Apollo: Missions to the Moon – David Tillman

Outstanding Achievement in Broadcast Cinematography

Homecoming – Mark Ritchie, Julian Klincewicz, Dikayl Rimmasch and Irie Calkins